Tags

, , , , ,

Mom's barn

Mom’s barn (Photo credit: photo516)

Now that I can actually see nearly 100% of the grass in my front and back lawns, I actually have hope that spring will appear once again. Of course, if past springs in northern Illinois are the rule, it will be cold, damp, and dreary for most of April.

However, simply being  without snow and ice and wind chills in the negatives is something to bang the drum about.

Even today’s rain and fog are OK: No shovels or snow throwers required to deal with them!

U.S. Cellular Field, grounds crew preparing th...

U.S. Cellular Field, grounds crew preparing the field. Chicago Illinois. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Thus, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Roger “the Sod Father” Bossard and his intrepid grounds crew will have U.S. Cellular Field in pristine condition when Monday, March 31 rolls around.

And, again, if the past is the rule, there will be no doubt that Roger and company will have the field in spectacular condition.

Even as miserable and lousy as last season was, I’m really getting that “itch” for this year’s campaign to get going.

Paul Konerko

Paul Konerko (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Generally speaking, there seems to be a greater sense of urgency during this spring training–to avoid another season like last year–and some new faces are on the scene.

In my next post, I’ll write about these additions to the Sox as well as my thoughts about the remaining veteran regulars: Konerko, Dunn, Beckham, et al.

In the meantime, I’ll keep a watch on the weather as spring officially creeps in on the 20th and use my transcendental powers to send good weather out to Roger Bossard so he can work his magic once again! Go, Sox!

See you at the ballpark

Enhanced by Zemanta
