Tags

, , , ,

Bleachers, U.S. Cellular Field

Bleachers, U.S. Cellular Field (Photo credit: Michael J. Linden)

No, I’m not abandoning this blog–yet–but, as mentioned previously, I have nothing too worthwhile to write about this White Sox season. I have been happily ensconced up here at the cottage in Michigan, and have heard or seen very little of my beloved Sox. However, we had a wonderful Fourth of July spent at U.S. Cellular, where the Sox actually won the game on an Adam Dunn home run in the bottom of the 9th.

What was so special about the day and the game was having my son and grandsons, my wife, my daughter-in-law, her sister, and parents out there together. Win or lose, it’s always a special time to share the occasion with those special people in our lives.

While the day was fun, I don’t foresee myself heading back that way the remainder of this season. Getting swept by the Cubs certainly doesn’t help, but it’s not surprising the way things have played out from day 1. I will let this one game suffice and look ahead to a new season beginning next April. Perhaps there will be more life and spirit then.

In the meantime, I am currently working on some posts about the Harry Caray era with the Sox. If nothing else, those bring back some awfully good memories–even when the Sox weren’t very good then, either! Look for those very soon.

In the meantime, enjoy the rest of the summer…

