Tags

, , , , ,

Now that the White Sox have reached the end of the 2012 season, having fallen short of a Division crown, we can relax and enjoy the beauty of autumn and the prelude to the winter months ahead.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been remembering—dusting off memories of seasons past—and planning all of the things I’ll write about in the days and months ahead. And when I realize that I have been an “uninterrupted” White Sox fan for over fifty years, I know that there will be plenty of remembrances about which to write.

English: Chicago White Sox second baseman . Le...

English: Chicago White Sox second baseman . Levels and saturation adjusted. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For instance, I will share thoughts and memories of many of my favorite players and their places in Sox lore and legend. Nellie Fox, Looie Aparicio, Gary Peters, Dick Allen…the list will continue to grow!

There are memorable games at which I happened to be in attendance, as well as those I “witnessed” via radio and/or TV.

In an earlier post, I wrote of the “Old Commander,” Bob Elson and partner, Don Wells. But the cast of characters over the years changed, and there are plenty of memories to share about those “voices.” After all, Milo Hamilton and Red Rush partnered with Elson and filled many hours of my listening to the games through the ‘60s, leading up to the Harry Caray era. Add to the mix Jimmy Piersall and the beginning of some pretty exciting White Sox games through the ‘70s, and there will be plenty to share in the posts ahead as the leaves fall and the snow begins to fly!

Old Comiskey Park, that grand lady, will forever be in the backdrop of things shared and written about on this blog. Going there with my parents and walking in and seeing the big scoreboard in center field, the Bowman Dairy sign smack in the middle, is as clear on this October morning as it was way back in the early ‘60s. The sights, the smells, the sounds, and, yes, the tastes of the Comiskey Park experiences will forever remain in my memory storehouse. I plan to give some space to recalling so many of them.

English: I took this picture of Nancy Faust at...

English: I took this picture of Nancy Faust at Comiskey Park before the game of May 21, 1980. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I type these words now, the panorama of wonderful things past of White Sox baseball stretches out in my mind and makes me tend to forget about the “what-might-have-been” season just concluded. I am sure that this season will someday be added to that panorama, for, after all, it was the White Sox. But for now, I look forward to the offseason, a time to recollect and share. All I need now would be an appropriate tune from Nancy Faust to wrap this up. We can only wish! Stay tuned.

See you at the ballpark!

